call Clarendon college link facebook link twitter link LinkedIn link youtube link
Homepage link
Fall Mini Session 2019
Spring Session 2020
Photo Album link
CC Men's Rodeo Team wins Regional Championship, headed to National Finals
Posted By: Ashlee Estlack - 5/3/2019 4:56:11 PM

The Clarendon College Men’s Rodeo team is headed to the National Finals Rodeo after winning the Southwest Region Men’s Team Championship for the first time in school history.

The team competed at the final rodeo of the season last weekend in Stephenville, TX, at the Tarleton Stampede.

Justin Opatrny, a freshman from Cochranton, PA, won 3rd in the first round of Bareback riding. Josh Green, a sophomore from Wetumpka, AL, made the short round in the fifth position and won third in the round and finished third in the average pulling in 100 team points for his efforts.

In the Tie Down roping Brody Rankin, a freshman from Roaring Springs, TX, placed 5th in the first round won the short round and the average to bring 140 points for the team.

In the Saddle Bronc Riding Clarendon College had 3 representatives in the short round. Tegan Smith placed 2nd and Clint Franks and Riggin Smith split 4th - 5th in the first round.  But when the finals were over Tegan Smith was the Champ, Riggin finished 3rd and Clint was 5th  - all of which accumulated 275 points for the team.

In total the team captured 515 points allowing them to win the Tarleton Stampede, but more importantly this win catapulted Clarendon College to the Southwest Region Men’s Team Championship for the first time in school history.

The following morning the Southwest Region sponsored an awards banquet.

Clarendon College received numerous accolades including:


  • 2018-19 Southwest Region Men’s Team Champions



Tegan Smith

  • 2018-19 ALL Around Champion Cowboy (2 nd Yr in a row)
  • Reserve Champion Saddle Bronc Rider
  • 3rd place finish in the Bull Riding
  • Nominated to represent the Southwest Region for the Walt Garrison Scholarship Award

Riggin Smith

  • 2018-19 Saddle Bronc Riding Champion